Banning Water Exports

Wed, Oct 1, 2008


The Report and How MPs Voted

Text of the Parliamentary International Trade Committee’s Important Report on Banning Water Exports:

Whereas Canada’s water resources must be protected;Whereas NAFTA covers all services and all goods, except those that are expressly excluded and water is not excluded;

Whereas this situation puts the provincial and federal laws concerning the protection of water including the prohibition of bulk water exports at risk;

Whereas a simple agreement by exchange of letters among the governments of Canada, the United States and Mexico specifying that water is not covered by NAFTA must be respected by international tribunals as if it were an integral part of NAFTA;

That the Standing Committee recommend that the government quickly begin talks with its American and Mexican counterparts to exclude water from the scope of NAFTA.


To learn more about the Canadian and the International campaigns concerned with the bulk export of water, we encourage you to visit the following organizations:


The Council of Canadians
Polaris Institute
Sierra Club
The Tyee
Great Lakes Directory


Public Citizen
The Sierra Club


Water Justice
Food and Water Watch

Here is how MPs voted:

YES (134 votes)
Omar Alghabra—LIB
Larry Bagnell—LIB
Sue Barnes—LIB
Mauril Bélanger—LIB
Don Bell—LIB
Carolyn Bennett—LIB
Raymond Bonin—LIB
Ken Boshcoff—LIB
Scott Brison—LIB
Gerry Byrne—LIB
Raymond Chan—LIB
Denis Coderre—LIB
Roy Cullen—LIB
Rodger Cuzner—LIB
Jean-Claude—D’Amours LIB
Sukh Dhaliwal—LIB
Wayne Easter—LIB
Mark Eyking—LIB
Hedy Fry—LIB
Ralph Goodale—LIB
Mark Holland—LIB
Michael Ignatieff—LIB
Susan Kadis—LIB
Nancy Karetak-Lindell—LIB
Jim Karygiannis—LIB
Derek Lee—LIB
Lawrence MacAulay—LIB
Bill Matthews—LIB
John McCallum—LIB
John Maloney—LIB
Diane Marleau—LIB
David McGuinty—LIB
Joe McGuire—LIB
John McKay—LIB
Dan McTeague—LIB
Gary Merasty—LIB
Maria Minna—LIB
Brian Murphy—LIB
Shawn Murphy—LIB
Keith Martin—LIB
Stephen Owen—LIB
Massimo Pacetti—LIB
Bernard Patry—LIB
Glen Pearson—LIB
Marcel Proulx—LIB
Karen Redman—LIB
Geoff Regan—LIB
Lucienne Robillard—LIB
Anthony Rota—LIB
Michael Savage—LIB
Francis Scarpaleggia—LIB
Andy Scott—LIB
Judy Sgro—LIB
Mario Silva—LIB
Scott Simms—LIB
Lloyd St. Amand—LIB
Brent St. Denis—LIB
Paul Steckle—LIB
Andrew Telegdi—LIB
Robert Thibault—LIB
Alan Tonks—LIB
Garth Turner—LIB
Roger Valley—LIB
Tom Wappel—LIB
Blaire Wilson—LIB
Borys Wrzesnewskyj—LIB
Gérard Asselin—BLOC
Claude Bachand—BLOC
Vivia Barbot—BLOC
André Bellavance—BLOC
Bernard Bigras—BLOC
Raynald Blais—BLOC
France Bonsant—BLOC
Robert Bouchard—BLOC
Diane Bourgeois—BLOC
Paule Brunelle—BLOC
Robert Carrier—BLOC
Nicole Demers—BLOC
Johanne Deschamps—BLOC
Paul Crête—BLOC
Claude DeBellefeuille—BLOC
Gilles Duceppe—BLOC
Meili Faille—BLOC
Carole Freeman—BLOC
Christiane Gagnon—BLOC
Roger Gaudet—BLOC
Raymond Gravel—BLOC
Monique Guay—BLOC
Michel Guimond—BLOC
Maka Kotto—BLOC
Jean-Yves Laforest—BLOC
Mario Laframboise—BLOC
Francine Lalonde—BLOC
Carole Lavallée—BLOC
Marc Lemay—BLOC
Yves Lessard—BLOC
Yvon Lévesque—BLOC
ALuc Malo—BLOC
Réal Ménard—BLOC
Serge Ménard—BLOC
Richard Nadeau—BLOC
Pierre Paquette—BLOC
Pauline Picard—BLOC
Louis Plamondon—BLOC
Jean-Yves Roy—BLOC
Thierry St-Cyr—BLOC
Caroline St-Hilaire—BLOC
Robert Vincent—BLOC
Alex Atamanenko—NDP
Catherine Bell—NDP
Dennis Bevington—NDP
Dawn Black—NDP
Chris Charlton—NDP
Olivia Chow—NDP
David Christopherson—NDP
Joe Comartin—NDP
Jean Crowder—NDP
Libby Davies—NDP
Paul Dewar—NDP
Yvon Godin—NDP
Peter Julian—NDP
Jack Layton—NDP
Wayne Marston—NDP
Tony Martin—NDP
Brian Masse—NDP
Irene Mathyssen—NDP
Alexa McDonough—NDP
Peggy Nash—NDP
Penny Priddy—NDP
Denise Savoie—NDP
Bill Siksay—NDP
Peter Stoffer—NDP
Judy Wasylycia-Leis—NDP
Louise Thibault—Independent

NO (108 votes)
Jim Abbott—Conservative
Diane Ablonczy—Conservative
Harold Albrecht—Conservative
Mike Allen—Conservative
Dean Allison—Conservative
Rona Ambrose—Conservative
Rob Anders—Conservative
David Anderson—Conservative
André Arthur—Independent
Dave Batters—Conservative
Maxime Bernier—Conservative
Jean-Pierre Blackburn—Conservative
Steven Blaney—Conservative
Sylvie Boucher—Conservative
Garry Breitkreuz—Conservative
Gord Brown—Conservative
Patrick Brown—Conservative
Rod Bruinooge—Conservative
Blaine Calkins—Conservative
Colin Carrie—Conservative
Bill Casey—Conservative
Rick Casson—Conservative
Michael Chong—Conservative
John Cummins—Conservative
Patricia Davidson—Conservative
Stockwell Day—Conservative
Dean Del Mastro—Conservative
Barry Devolin—Conservative
Norman Doyle—Conservative
Rick Dykstra—Conservative
David Emerson—Conservative
Ken Epp—Conservative
Ed Fast—Conservative
Brian Fitzpatrick—Conservative
Jim Flaherty—Conservative
Steven Fletcher—Conservative
Royal Galipeau—Conservative
Cheryl Gallant—Conservative
Peter Goldring—Conservative
Gary Goodyear—Conservative
Jacques Gourde—Conservative
Nina Grewal—Conservative
Art Hanger—Conservative
Richard Harris—Conservative
Luc Harvey—Conservative
Laurie Hawn—Conservative
Loyola Hearn—Conservative
Russ Hiebert—Conservative
Jay Hill—Conservative
Betty Hinton—Conservative
Rahim Jaffer—Conservative
Brian Jean—Conservative
Gerald Keddy—Conservative
Jason Kenney—Conservative
Wajid Khan—Conservative
Ed Komarnicki—Conservative
Dayl Kramp—Conservative
Mike Lake—Conservative
Guy Lauzon—Conservative
Tom Lukiwski—Conservative
Gary Lunn—Conservative
James Lunney—Conservative
Dave MacKenzie—Conservative
Fabian Manning—Conservative
Colin Mayes—Conservative
Rob Merrifield—Conservative
Larry Miller—Conservative
James Moore—Conservative
Rob Nicholson—Conservative
Rick Norlock—Conservative
Gordon O’Connor—Conservative
Deepak Obhrai—Conservative
Bev Oda—Conservative
Brian Pallister—Conservative
Christian Paradis—Conservative
Daniel Petit—Conservative
Pierre Poilievre—Conservative
Jim Prentice—Conservative
Joe Preston—Conservative
James Rajotte—Conservative
Scott Reid—Conservative
Lee Richardson—Conservative
Gerry Ritz—Conservative
Gary Schellenberger—Conservative
Bev Shipley—Conservative
Carol Skelton—Conservative
Joy Smith—Conservative
Monte Solberg—Conservative
Kevin Sorenson—Conservative
Bruce Stanton—Conservative
Brian Storseth—Conservative
Chuck Strahl—Conservative
David Sweet—Conservative
Greg Thompson—Conservative
Myron Thompson—Conservative
David Tilson—Conservative
Vic Toews—Conservative
Bradley Trost—Conservative
Mervin Tweed—Conservative
Dave Van Kesteren—Conservative
Peter Van Loan—Conservative
Maurice Vellacott—Conservative
Josée Verner—Conservative
Mike Wallace—Conservative
Chris Warkentin—Conservative
Jeff Watson—Conservative
John Williams—Conservative
Lynne Yelich—Conservative

An arrangement whereby two Members of Parliament on opposite sides of the House agree not to vote for a specific period of time. This arrangement permits Members, particularly Cabinet Ministers, to be absent on other business during voting periods.

John Baird—Conservative
Guy André—BLOC
Lawrence Cannon—Conservative
Serge Cardin—BLOC
Tony Clement—Conservative
Michel Gauthier—BLOC
Diane Finley—Conservative
Marcel Lussier—BLOC
Peter MacKay—Conservative
Maria Mourani—BLOC
Mark Warawa—Conservative
Christian Ouellet—BLOC

Leave a Reply